Virgin Mobile is a prepaid cellular phone service provider that operates in several countries, including the U.S. Canada and Australia. It offers you the ability to have cell phone service without the need for a contract, and with no monthly bill when you choose a pay-as-you-go plan. In order to pay for the pay-as-you-go service, in the company's terminology, you must "top-up" your Virgin Mobile phone by adding money to your account.
For ease of use, Virgin Mobile offers multiple options for topping-up your Virgin Mobile phone. You can do it directly from your phone, similar to paying a postpaid, or contract, cellphone bill via phone. You can purchase special Top-Up cards in designated amounts of money at retailers such as Walgreens and CVS. You can also top-up via Virgin Mobile's website, by using a credit card number or valid PayPal account.
Although Virgin Mobile does not require you to top-up every month, it does require you to top-up with a minimum of $20 at least once every 90 days. If you do not use your phone often, don't worry -- the company issues reminders via your phone when your balance is low. That way, you can top-up when it
is convenient for you, but before you lose service during an important call.
You can top-up your phone in any amount between $20 and $120. If you're worried that you'll forget to top-up your phone, you can use Virgin Mobile's auto top-up feature to automatically top up your phone when you're close to running out of money on your phone. Virgin Mobile also offers Service Preserver, which allows you to maintain your service for a year without the need to remember to top-up. In order to qualify, you must meet one of Virgin Mobile's four Service Preserver criteria. Service Preserver is available for both their pay-as-you-go and monthly cell phone plans.
When you purchase Top-Up cards from participating retailers, they're activated immediately, but not tied to your account. Take care not to lose your card before you can add the money to your phone. If you don't top-up your phone at least once every 90 days, your phone will be considered inactive, and your phone number will no longer be attached to your device. Essentially, this means your phone number will no longer be yours, as it will be made available for new phone number assignments in your area.